[Top][All Lists]

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

LilyPond 2.18.0 released

From: David Kastrup
Subject: LilyPond 2.18.0 released
Date: Mon, 30 Dec 2013 17:50:09 +0100
User-agent: Gnus/5.13 (Gnus v5.13) Emacs/24.3.50 (gnu/linux)

Some of you might have seen this on the lilypond-announce list, but I
repeat it here since not everybody may read the announce list.  The big
announcement to all the non-LilyPond lists will happen in a few days if
we don't get major complaints.

Here it goes:

We are proud to announce the release of GNU LilyPond 2.18.0 - the new
stable release. LilyPond is a music engraving program devoted to
producing the highest-quality sheet music possible. It brings the
aesthetics of traditionally engraved music to computer printouts.

Among the numerous improvements and changes, the following might be
most visible:

* Many items are now positioned using their actual outline rather than
a rectangular bounding box. This greatly reduces the occurrence of
unsightly large gaps.
* Sets and overrides can now use a simpler syntax
* Triplets with a given group length can now be written using a more
user-friendly syntax

A full list of noteworthy new features is given in:

Great thanks go to the large number of LilyPond enthusiasts whose
financial backing enabled one core developer, David Kastrup, to focus
exclusively on LilyPond during the entire development cycle.

LilyPond 2.18 has been brought to you by

Main Developers:
Bertrand Bordage, Trevor Daniels, Colin Hall, Phil Holmes, Ian Hulin,
Reinhold Kainhofer, David Kastrup, Jonathan Kulp, Werner Lemberg, John
Mandereau, Patrick McCarty, Joe Neeman, Han-Wen Nienhuys, Jan
Nieuwenhuizen, Graham Percival, Mark Polesky, Neil Puttock, Mike
Solomon, Carl Sorensen, Francisco Vila, Valentin Villenave, Janek

Core Contributors:
Aleksandr Andreev, Frédéric Bron, Torsten Hämmerle, Marc Hohl, James
Lowe, Andrew Main, Thomas Morley, David Nalesnik, Keith OHara, Benko
Pál, Anders Pilegaard, Julien Rioux, Johannes Rohrer, Adam Spiers,
Heikki Tauriainen

Documentation Writers:
Frédéric Bron, Federico Bruni, Colin Campbell, Urs Liska, James Lowe,
Thomas Morley, Jean-Charles Malahieude, Guy Stalnaker, Martin
Tarenskeen, Arnold Theresius, Rodolfo Zitellini

Bug Squad:
Colin Campbell, Eluze, Marc Hohl, Phil Holmes, Marek Klein, Ralph Palmer

Support Team:
Colin Campbell, Eluze, Marc Hohl, Marek Klein, Kieren MacMillan, Urs
Liska, Ralph Palmer

Federico Bruni, Luca Rossetto Casel, Felipe Castro, Pavel Fric,
Jean-Charles Malahieude, Till Paala, Yoshiki Sawada
and numerous other contributors.

David Kastrup

reply via email to

[Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread]