bug-gnu-emacs
[Top][All Lists]
Advanced

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

bug#14210: 23.4; Timezone handling?


From: Julio Pacheco T.
Subject: bug#14210: 23.4; Timezone handling?
Date: Tue, 16 Apr 2013 10:40:08 -0300

Solved.

Just for completeness, the answer to your questions:
Let's start with the basics: What does this print:

    M-: (format-time-string "%H:%M %Z %z")

"09:01 CLT -0400"


and how does the time it shows compare with your system clock?

On the console:
$ date +"%H:%M %Z %z"
09:02 CLT -0400

On the clock applet in the desktop:
10:02 America/Santiago

Next, do you have a TZ variable in your environment, and if you do,
what is its value?

There is no TZ variable defined in the environment.




Thanks to your hint, I've traced the actual problem to a stray /etc/localtime that somehow didn't get updated with the rest of the zonedata package.

Apparently, the desktop clock applet gets the timezone info directly from /usr/share/zoneinfo/*, while the command line utilities and Emacs use /etc/localtime first (checked with strace).

Regards,
Julio Pacheco

El 16/04/2013 3:01, Eli Zaretskii escribió:
Date: Mon, 15 Apr 2013 12:40:22 -0300
From: "Julio Pacheco T." <address@hidden>

Apparently, Emacs is ignoring the system timezone settings and using its
own definitions.

Not really, no.

In Chile, the switch from daylight savings to standard time has been
postponed from March 10 00:00 to April 28 00:00, and the system tzdata
files have been properly updated; however, inside Emacs, the timezone is
reported as CLT instead of CLST:

Output of zdump -v Chile/Continental | grep 2013
------------------------------------------------
Chile/Continental  Sun Apr 28 02:59:59 2013 UTC = Sat Apr 27 23:59:59 2013
CLST isdst=1 gmtoff=-10800
Chile/Continental  Sun Apr 28 03:00:00 2013 UTC = Sat Apr 27 23:00:00 2013
CLT isdst=0 gmtoff=-14400
Chile/Continental  Sun Sep  8 03:59:59 2013 UTC = Sat Sep  7 23:59:59 2013
CLT isdst=0 gmtoff=-14400
Chile/Continental  Sun Sep  8 04:00:00 2013 UTC = Sun Sep  8 01:00:00 2013
CLST isdst=1 gmtoff=-10800

Output of emacs Calendar/Lunar phases (note the switch CLST-> CLT in the
Mar 4 - Mar 11 interval, instead of Apr25 - May2):
---------------------------------------
Monday, March 4, 2013: Last Quarter Moon 6:59pm (CLST)
Monday, March 11, 2013: New Moon 3:54pm (CLT)
Tuesday, March 19, 2013: First Quarter Moon 1:28pm (CLT)
Wednesday, March 27, 2013: Full Moon 5:26am (CLT)
Wednesday, April 3, 2013: Last Quarter Moon 12:43am (CLT)
Wednesday, April 10, 2013: New Moon 5:39am (CLT)
Thursday, April 18, 2013: First Quarter Moon 8:33am (CLT)
Thursday, April 25, 2013: Full Moon 3:55pm (CLT)
Thursday, May 2, 2013: Last Quarter Moon 7:21am (CLT)
Thursday, May 9, 2013: New Moon 8:32pm (CLT)
Saturday, May 18, 2013: First Quarter Moon 12:36am (CLT)
Saturday, May 25, 2013: Full Moon 12:22am (CLT)
Friday, May 31, 2013: Last Quarter Moon 3:05pm (CLT)

Also, in org-mode the timestamps created by org-clock-in are off by -1
hour, so the discrepancies in timezone are not mode-specific.

So, where is emacs actually getting the timezone info from?

From your system, of course.  Although packages like Calendar might
sometimes offer features that use some internal data (but not in this
case, I think).

Let's start with the basics: What does this print:

    M-: (format-time-string "%H:%M %Z %z")

and how does the time it shows compare with your system clock?

Next, do you have a TZ variable in your environment, and if you do,
what is its value?







reply via email to

[Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread]