[Top][All Lists]

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: [Bug-gnubg] Bug? Or ?

From: Jim Segrave
Subject: Re: [Bug-gnubg] Bug? Or ?
Date: Sun, 18 Jul 2004 11:55:36 +0200
User-agent: Mutt/1.4.1i

On Sat 17 Jul 2004 (12:20 -0700), Brian Dixon wrote:
> Hi,
> Version:
> --------
>   Haven't written before so please forgive me if this isn't the right
> avenue for discussion or for attaching files.

It's fine

>   I'm using the version currently available at
> http://www.gnubg.org/downloads/windows/ for Windows, described as:
>   "The archive contain GTK+ library files, an executable based on the
> CVS repository 20. April 2004 development version 0.14.2 branch
> (ChangeLog 1.1565) "
>   Help/About says the version is 0.14.devel.
> The possible bug:
> -----------------
>   So much for history.  In the attached saved match, the game would not
> let me make a move that Robertie claims is within the rules.  In
> particular, if you have 2 dice and there's a way to play both but you
> instead to play just one of them knowing that if you do, that the other
> won't be able to be played, then this is legal.  In some circumstances,
> this makes sense.  In the attached match (me playing the computer), I
> rolled a 43 and wanted to play (black) 16/13* and lose the second die's
> turn (knowingly.)  Gnubg let me make that move just fine.  But clicking
> on the dice to finish the turn, since there were no valid moves for the
> 4, did not finish my turn.  Since there were no valid moves for the 4,
> nothing could be done.  I had to undo the 16/13* and play 16/12 and 4/1
> instead, the only other valid play with the 43 at that point.  Either
> Gnubg is wrong, or Robertie is wrong ...which is it?

Are you sure that Robertie says that? The rules of backgammon say that
if you can play both dice, you must do so. See for example

<URL:http://www.bkgm.com/rules.html> where one finds:

   4. A player must use both numbers of a roll if this is legally
      possible (or all four numbers of a double). When only one number
      can be played, the player must play that number. Or if either
      number can be played but not both, the player must play the
      larger one. When neither number can be used, the player loses
      his turn. In the case of doubles, when all four numbers cannot
      be played, the player must play as many numbers as he can. 

This says that what you wished to do is not allowed

Jim Segrave           address@hidden

reply via email to

[Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread]