[Top][All Lists]

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

Re: [Bug-gnubg] bug

From: Michael Petch
Subject: Re: [Bug-gnubg] bug
Date: Thu, 05 Sep 2013 15:43:03 -0600
User-agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows NT 6.1; WOW64; rv:17.0) Gecko/20130801 Thunderbird/17.0.8

On 05/09/2013 1:32 PM, Mark R. Allen wrote:
> The program resigned at this point (see screenshot) and generously
> gave me 1 point. If gnubg rolled a 1-1, 1-2, 1-3, etc. instead of
> resigning and I rolled any double on my next turn, I would have won
> the game with two points.  What's up with that?

Doh, forget all those questions. The answer is trivial and I didn't have
enough caffeine. Once your opponent has taken one man off the board you
can no longer gammon him. You can only score a gammon or backgammon IF
your opponent has NO men off.  Since he already has one off (5 in this
case) it is not possible for you to win a gammon.

There are a nice set of rules at http://www.bkgm.com/rules.html . The
rule there is as follows:

At the end of the game, if the losing player has borne off at least one
checker, he loses only the value showing on the doubling cube (one
point, if there have been no doubles). However, if the loser
has /not/ borne off any of his checkers, he is gammoned
<http://www.bkgm.com/gloss/lookup.cgi?gammon>and loses /twice/ the value
of the doubling cube. Or, worse, if the loser has not borne off any of
his checkers and still has a checker on the bar or in the winner's home
board, he is backgammoned
<http://www.bkgm.com/gloss/lookup.cgi?backgammon> and loses /three
times/ the value of the doubling cube


Michael Petch
GNU Backgammon Maintainer / Developer
OpenPGP FingerPrint=D81C 6A0D 987E 7DA5 3219 6715 466A 2ACE 5CAE 3304

reply via email to

[Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread]