bug-gnu-emacs
[Top][All Lists]
Advanced

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

bug#11807: M-x display-time-world & EDT/DST


From: Jambunathan K
Subject: bug#11807: M-x display-time-world & EDT/DST
Date: Thu, 28 Jun 2012 14:32:15 +0530
User-agent: Gnus/5.13 (Gnus v5.13) Emacs/24.1 (windows-nt)

Andreas Schwab <address@hidden> writes:

> Jambunathan K <address@hidden> writes:
>
>> ,---- http://www.timeanddate.com/worldclock/city.html?n=179
>> | 
>> | Current Time|Wednesday, 27 June 2012, 05:27:42 EDT <=== Time now
>
> Looking at it now I see 04:54, which agrees with what display-time-world
> shows.

May be it has something to do with locale settings.  

This is what I see *now.

Seattle   Thursday 28 June 00:56 PDT
New York  Thursday 28 June 03:56 EDT <=== This is off by 1-hr.
London    Thursday 28 June 08:56 BST
Paris     Thursday 28 June 09:56 CDT
Bangalore Thursday 28 June 14:26 IST <=== Local time.  This is correct
Tokyo     Thursday 28 June 17:56 JST

>> |  ("IST-5:30" "Bangalore")  <=== Why this ''minus''. Isn't IST = GMT+5:30?
>
> For the same reason New York is EST5EDT.

It is consistent but counter-intuitive. It is a gotcha.

> Andreas.





reply via email to

[Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread]