bug-gnu-emacs
[Top][All Lists]
Advanced

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

bug#11807: M-x display-time-world & EDT/DST


From: Andreas Schwab
Subject: bug#11807: M-x display-time-world & EDT/DST
Date: Thu, 28 Jun 2012 11:39:01 +0200
User-agent: Gnus/5.13 (Gnus v5.13) Emacs/24.1 (gnu/linux)

Jambunathan K <address@hidden> writes:

> This is what I see *now.
>
> Seattle   Thursday 28 June 00:56 PDT
> New York  Thursday 28 June 03:56 EDT <=== This is off by 1-hr.
> London    Thursday 28 June 08:56 BST
> Paris     Thursday 28 June 09:56 CDT
> Bangalore Thursday 28 June 14:26 IST <=== Local time.  This is correct
> Tokyo     Thursday 28 June 17:56 JST

You are using the wrong timezone (GMT+6:30 instead of GMT+5:30).

>>> |  ("IST-5:30" "Bangalore")  <=== Why this ''minus''. Isn't IST = GMT+5:30?
>>
>> For the same reason New York is EST5EDT.
>
> It is consistent but counter-intuitive. It is a gotcha.

It is a fact of life and perfectly correct.

Andreas.

-- 
Andreas Schwab, address@hidden
GPG Key fingerprint = 58CA 54C7 6D53 942B 1756  01D3 44D5 214B 8276 4ED5
"And now for something completely different."





reply via email to

[Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread]