[Top][All Lists]

[Date Prev][Date Next][Thread Prev][Thread Next][Date Index][Thread Index]

RE: AW: delete-selection-mode

From: Drew Adams
Subject: RE: AW: delete-selection-mode
Date: Thu, 18 Mar 2010 10:10:57 -0700

> >> You can set the mark, move somewhere else, type stuff 
> >> there, and return using C-x C-x, again typing stuff there,
> >> without destroying anything you have written.
> >
> > You can still do that with delete-selection-mode turned on; you just
> > need to hit C-g to deactivate the mark before starting typing in the
> > new location.
> And get a bell.  In the course of a normal editing operation.

Oh please. Is this what this has boiled down to? The bell?

With d-s-mode, you have to use C-g to deactivate the region - and you'll hear a
bell. Without d-s-mode, you have to hit C-w or DEL to replace the region - no

So we get rid of the bell for C-g when it deactivates the region. Problem

reply via email to

[Prev in Thread] Current Thread [Next in Thread]